May 10, 2007

  • I’m in the middle of listening to the above as an audiobook (delightfully read by Richard Matthews).  No official review yet, but if you’re stumbling around for a family read-aloud and you have dino-crazy kids, you might consider reading the chapter on the discovery of dinosaurs to your family.  (Chapter 6 or 7, I think.)  Bryson has a wonderfully ironic tone throughout, and the history is so very twisted and wacky!  Kidlets might need to be a little beyond the standard dino-crazy age to follow it (maybe 8 or so? and used to listening to read-alouds!), but even if they can’t follow the whole thing, it’s worth a try.

Comments (3)

  • I loved that book! It has made me afraid to take a vacation at Yellowstone, though.

  • You’ll HAVE to *listen* to Bryson’s A Walk in the Woods! It is hilarious if you get the one from Recorded Books (I can’t remember the reader but will look him up). But there’s enough language in it that I don’t think the kidlet’s ears should hear words like that!

  • I loved that book!  He clarified many scientific things I’d always wondered about or didn’t even know existed to wonder about.  I also enjoyed learning about the wacky scientists.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *