January 12, 2013

  • Jelly Jelly Bo Belly

    My first attempt at jelly-making has been relatively successful.

    Doesn’t that look pretty?

    It’s Meyer lemon jelly, from a cookbook I got for Christmas–Williams-Sonoma’s The Art of Preserving.

    I love lemon, in virtually all of its applications, so I was intrigued by this recipe.  I’ve discovered that I don’t actually care for Meyer lemons.  They’re a little too sweet, and they don’t have that aggressive sunniness I like about lemons.

    But this jelly is very nice.

    It jelled up perfectly.

    I have not yet tried canning, so it’s all going to go in the freezer.  Canning will have to go on the After The Diss list.

Comments (2)

  • Growing up, my mom made lots of jellies and jams. She never made lemon, but that looks yummy. Now she mainly makes strawberry, but as she is in her seventies, it may not be for much longer.

    She perserved them with a wax seal, which your are not supposed to do anymore, but it never harmed us.

  • They still sell canning wax in the grocery stores!  I guess lots of people still do.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *