December 7, 2012

  • Tasty Breakfast

    Okay, here’s the deal.

    People who eat greens every day, or nearly every day, are healthier than people who don’t.

    So eat your greens.  Raw or cooked, sprinkled with vinegar or drowning in cream, eat your greens.

    My new favorite way to eat mine:

    Butter a piece of bread and fry it in a small frying pan.  (Pretend you’re making a grilled cheese sandwich, only forget the cheese and the sandwich part.)

    Melt a tablespoon or so of butter and saute some baby kale in it for a few minutes, until wilted but still a good cheerful green.

    Put it on the toast.

    Add a little more butter to the pan.  (No, a little more than that.)

    Pour one egg, whisked with a wee bit of cream, into the buttery pan and make a quick omelet.  Don’t let the egg brown at all–it should stay soft, but cooked.

    Nudge the omelet out of the pan and on to the greens.

    Wee bit of salt, and then you have a perfect breakfast.  Even the menfolk in your life will eat their greens this way.

    I meant to get a picture, but I was eating too fast.

Comments (4)

  • It sounds delicious!

  • Oh. my. I made this (sans toast) for breakfast yesterday *and* for an late afternoon repast. The  man in my life wasn’t having any, but I believe he can be converted. I am immensely grateful.

  • I’m so glad you liked it!
    I made it yesterday for a quick lunch after church, and Theo said, “Just so you know, Mom, I like plain kale better than creamed kale.”
    So, yes, definite potential for conversion!

  • I would rather have an Amos, Theo and/or Isaac picture. They can be eating the sandwich, but it will greatly enhance my appreciation of the picture. Just sayin’

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *