July 18, 2009

  • Overheard

    Yesterday:

    Mom: Okay, kids, we need some french fries for dinner.  Theo, sit on your bottom, please.
    Isaac: Hey, look!  Alphabet-shaped tater tots!
    Mom: Theo, do you need help finding your bottom?  Isaac, can you grab some fries?
    Isaac: Can we get them?
    Mom: Huh?  No, Theo, don’t throw the pears!
    Isaac: It’ll be good for Theo!  Educational!
    Mom: Yeah, sure, throw them in the cart.  Get some fries, too.  Theo, you can’t eat the cherries until we pay for them!

    [Later, at home unpacking]

    Mom: Wait. Did I just buy alphabet-shaped tater tots?!
    Isaac: Mom, think of the pedagogical value!
    Mom: I’m so embarrassed.

    Today:
    Theo: Mommy, I just . . . I just drew H-horsey to my paper.
    Mom: Oh, yeah?
    Theo: An’ a . . . a Z-zebra.  An’ a T-Theo.
    Mom: Very nice, dear.
    Isaac: See, Mom?  The tater tots totally worked.
    Mom: Isaac, we are going to have a lesson in resisting psychological manipulation later.

Comments (1)

  • Oh, my! I remember days like that. My kids are still funny, but in more complicated ways. After all, the oldest will be 24 (yes, that’s twenty-four) in September.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *