October 1, 2012

  • Pause

    After only one day of Project No More Cooking, the [our last name] men were happy to have a reprieve.

    Friday night was pizza night.

    This met with a great deal more enthusiasm than “gourmet” canned soup.

    “How do you boys feel about Mom’s cooking now?”

    Mm-hm.

    It also occurred to me that I’ve never really timed how much cooking I do in a day.  A normal day, that is–not lamb shanks and birthday pie or whatever.

    So I checked.  Friday I made oatmeal for breakfast, packed a lunch for Theo and myself, and made pizza, carrot salad, and some little things for Amos.  I tried to do it all quickly and efficiently.

    A little over an hour.

    Saturday, toast for breakfast and we all just grabbed leftovers for lunch.  Burgers, coleslaw (pre-shredded cabbage), and fries for dinner.

    So, on a relatively easy day, forty-five minutes to an hour in the kitchen.  My fifteen minute limit is only gaining me half an hour against easy days.

    Of course, we probably only did those easy days two or three times a week.  Much more frequent were the homemade-bread-homemade-ice-cream-homemade-spaghetti-sauce-with-homemade-meatballs days.  I’ll have to time the cooking I do the month after the diss is done.

    I’m sure there will be some serious cooking then.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *