September 28, 2012

  • Project No More Cooking

    Well, the first day of Project No More Cooking was tense.

    With only a minute spent making breakfast (toast), and no lunches packed (I just grabbed some leftover kale and ate it cold at school), I still barely, barely, got dinner on the table.

    Perhaps I should use distance quotes.  I barely got “dinner” on the table.

    I splurged for the “gourmet” soup.

    Not too many warm, smiling faces in response to the delectable meal.

    In fact, Theo had to employ the shove, swallow, chase strategy.

    Shove it in the mouth.

    Swallow it as fast as possible, allowing minimal contact with the taste buds.

    And chase it down with copious sips of ice water.  (The cold water also helps dull the taste buds.)

    We told him about The Missionary Prayer acquaintances of ours, lifelong foreign missionaries in the developing world, told us about: “Lord, I’ll get it down if you’ll keep it down!”  He was not impressed.

    Amos, at least, enjoyed the meal.

    It’s a good thing today is an off day.  I’ve already spent twelve minutes making oatmeal and packing lunch.  And tonight’s pizza night.

    I’m not sure what we’ll do when we have to have five whole days in a row of Mama’s Not Bothering To Cook Anymore food.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *