April 5, 2013

  • Good Deal

    Best deal I’ve found in forever:  Cracker Barrel’s audiobook version of Redbox.

    You can rent audiobooks from any Cracker Barrel and return them to any Cracker Barrel.  There’s a lot of Cracker Barrels around, so this is, you know, fairly easy.

    $3.50 a week.  That’s not bad.  That’s pretty darn good, actually.  The selection is decidedly not pretty darn good.  But for $3.50 a week, it’s still a good deal.

    Especially when the road trip is getting really long and the readers on Librivox are also not pretty darn good.

    I’ve just started listening to Rowling’s A Casual Vacancy.  Will let you know.

    Have you listened to any good audiobooks lately?

Comments (3)

  • Well don’t take your road trip out this way because I don’t think I’ve ever seen a Cracker Barrel restaurant. (I only know about them from east coast friends mentioning them.)

  • I have the entire Narnia series on CD. It was done by Focus on the Family, an organization that I, um, do not care that much for, let’s say. I did not know that when I bought it. But, nevertheless, they are really well done (except for the little plugs for Focus on the Family.) I’ve listened to them again and again, and I just finished listening to The Voyage of the Dawn Treader.

    I picked it up on sale – 19 CDs for $15. Quite the deal.

  • I haven’t heard that version yet, DMM.
    HarperCollins Audio put out the series with a collection of the most fabulous readers.  I, too, listen to them again and again.  Wish I had them with me!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *