January 10, 2013

  • Eat Your Greens

    Remember my recent post describing one way to get your daily greens in?

    Now I have pictures.

    Any of you make healthy eating New Year’s resolutions?  I hope one of them was to increase your intake of fruits and veggies, especially leafy greens.  Don’t just cut out the bad stuff (whatever the “bad stuff” is for you)–make an effort to include the good stuff, too.  And leafy greens are the best of the good stuff.  Srsly.

    So.

    The nicest way to serve this is on a toast/crouton thing.

    Butter one side of your bread, like you’re making grilled cheese.

    And fry it.

    It would be more decadent to fry both sides, but . . . well, I was aiming for restraint.

    One of my grocery stores has started carrying baby kale, which I like very much.  But you could also use spinach (baby or otherwise) in this recipe.  I suppose if you could get baby chard, that would work nicely, too.  The point is to get the quick-cooking greens rather than the more substantial ones.

    Saute the greens in a little butter.

    Until they’re fairly well wilted.

    And remove to the crouton.

    Then top with your favorite egg preparation–poached, omelet, fried, scrambled, whatever.

    I most prefer an over-easy egg, because the gooey yolk makes the greens absolutely decadent.  But I’ve been doing a quick omelet lately, because that’s how Amos likes his eggs, and it’s easier to go ahead and make an omelet for both of us.

    So.  There you go.  Eat your greens.  Every day, if you can.

Comments (3)

  • That looks delicious. Actually, I don’t think I’ve ever eaten kale. I just love greens in general, so I’m assuming I would love kale, even though I’ve never had it. I keep meaning to. It seems odd that I haven’t managed it yet.

  • Ever since your first post I’ve had kale almost daily. I skip the bread (although it sure looks good) and usually add scrambled eggs on top. I can’t believe how fiercely I love this combo.

    One caveat: one day I was especially hungry. My thoughts running along the “if a little is good…” line prompted me to cook double my normal portion of kale. DON’T DO THIS. Oh my!

  • I have, too, Carol!  Every morning since we got back from Christmas vacation.  I’m feeling very virtuous and healthy.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *